Weird KIDE behaviour

Hi all,

I’m new to Komodo IDE as I just migrated from macromedia dreamweaverMx suite.

I’m having some problems configuring and using KIDE and hope someone will shed some light and help me solve my problems.

First my set up:

1. My development environment is windows 7 ultimate and a registered KIDE 8.5.
  2. I have some sites that that used to be dreamweaver MX(DWMX) and worked fine using FTP to upload files to my server.
  3. My web server/site is linux and hosted on hostmonster.

My problems: (actually not really problems)

1. I like the idea of using SFTP or FTPS or SCP for uploading files to the server, these days using FTP is not a good idea. So I have KIDE working fine using FTP but it doesn’t work using any other secure method to upload files. It looks like KIDE is uploading (publishing) the file but the file never gets updated.

I can SCP from my linux workstations using “SCP user@domain:/absolutepathtofile/file.xxx .” so why is KIDE not working using SCP?

1. Another weird thing. If I create a local file named info.php and publish it to the server using FTP it never gets there. If I rename the file to info1.php it uploads fine (gets published). So the name has something to do with this problem, anybody can confirm this? It uploads fine using DWMX… weird.

tnx,
rob

Try using SFTP (rather than SCP) to see if that makes a difference - as the underpinnings are slightly different.

As for the info.php file, I don’t see why that would cause a problem, unless your publishing excludes setting specifies that file.

Ok, before I post dumb things I did try SFTP and it didn’t work, I wonder what is happening here? I have a few ideas.

1. There is a difference between SSH accounts which SCP use and FTP accounts. In my server when I create an FTP account I can’t SSH using the ftp credentials. I wonder which credentials are required for SFTP and FTPS?